True Beauty!

So…throughout several previous posts I’ve had the concept of what is true authenticity and beauty seem to interweave within them. It has continually been spiraling through my head, because I am innately aware of both the darkness and deception around me, as well as the light and beauty. I see bursts of both randomly throughout this time in my life.

The struggle is that it is so easy to focus on the things and people that pull us down, rather than those things that inspire and empower us. Surprisingly, when we watch for them, inspiration and beauty are all around us. They come out in experiences, new places or adventures, and especially in the people around us.

Laura, is one of those people. In the year I’ve known her, she has taught me about what true beauty is. What I find so beautiful about her, is that she feels and experiences things to a great depth, and not just her emotions, but also in her freedom and spontaneity.

A few weeks ago, we were discussing what beauty is and Laura said something that completely rocked my thought process. She said there is even beauty in just being able to experience our emotions, even those feelings we wish we could ignore or forget. There is beauty in those raw emotions, just because we get to live them (this is very much a summary, I’m still processing all the other amazing things she said).

You can see why I’ve had to process, and reprocess, and process again. I had to reevaluate how I viewed anger, hurt and heartache. I had to search through the darkness and try to see the beauty.

Here’s what I came too:

I think I’m discovering that heartache and beauty often walk a parallel line next to each other. Sometimes, heartache stems from being drawn to something beautiful, but sometimes, if we are watching for it, something beautiful can be drawn from our heartache.

I wish I was insightful enough to hold this idea close, to remember that heartache, trauma, hurt, pain, will eventually lead to strength, understanding, courage.

But, I’m not.

I’ll get caught up.

I’ll forget.

That is why Laura is so important in my life. She’ll remind me, often when it’s not even intentional, because it’s who she is. She’ll continually remind to search out beauty and see it in new ways. And, when you can’t find it, create it.

So, here’s the important question; who’s showing you authenticity, beauty? Who is inspiring and empowering you to be a better version of yourself?

Tell me about them!

True Beauty!

Leave a Reply

